---
title: "How drivers can complete stops in a different sequence"
description: "Routific's mobile app allows drivers to skip a stop and proceed with later ones"
url: https://help.routific.com/en/articles/42-how-drivers-can-complete-stops-in-a-different-sequence
collection: "Driver management and the Routific mobile app"
updated: 2026-10-29
language: en
---

# How drivers can complete stops in a different sequence

Routific's mobile app allows drivers to skip a stop and proceed with later ones

## Why do drivers need to deviate from their route?

There are many reasons why they might want to make changes:

-   To prioritize another delivery at the last minute.
    
-   To avoid specific bridges/areas due to traffic.
    
-   To adjust to traffic incidents like accidents, road closures, etc.
    

## How drivers can complete stops in a different sequence

Drivers can choose to go to another stop on the route by tapping the **Go here first** button that appears on any upcoming stop card in both the **list view** and **map view** of the Routific app.

![](https://staticfiles.gleap.io/ghelparticle/0CSRNGIzBLdu03sDEOloKUXTN70hdPZiqGlT47swY4uCrNakGFXjcpchuTdAU77Ei4bf5afz6Wa.png)

## What happens when the driver taps “**Go here first”**?

-   The app will re-route them to the stop of their choosing.
    
-   It then triggers an ETA re-calculation
    
-   It also triggers the “On the way” customer notification, if enabled. _If customers have already received this message earlier in the route, they will not receive it again._
    
-   The route path will update on the driver app and in the dispatcher view.
    
-   It allows the driver to continue the rest of the route in the original sequence.
    
    _ex. If the driver has just finished at stop 1 and chooses to go to stop 3 first, they will be rerouted to stop 3. They will then continue on the route as planned: visiting stop 2 next, followed by stops 4, 5, 6, etc._
    

## Limitations

-   Currently, this feature does not re-optimize the rest of the route.
    
-   Changes in the route will be reflected for dispatchers in their view at plan.routific.com, but dispatchers will not be explicitly notified of this change.
    

## Can I turn this off for my drivers?

Yes! Only dispatchers or admins can change this setting by logging into Routific’s dispatcher app and going to **Company settings** > **Driver workflow**.

![](https://staticfiles.gleap.io/gattachments/IaAjCaLKEfgRARKb3EMvdSnO9Kkw05oAnhQvgC9yTW3bIpzcv0nhvJ5hyTIQb8haXjmtu4Qppv0.png)
